Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell 

My Review:
In the book Outliers, Malcolm Gladwell attempts to debunk the idea of the “self-made man”, which I believe he does methodically and quite elegantly. Not only did I enjoy the book Outliers, but it also forced me to think about all of the opportunities I was given throughout my life, which I attribute to my own success. 

Gladwell argues that the greatest contributing factors for a person’s success are timing, opportunity and their environment. This idea also challenges the notion of innate brilliance and the idea of the rock star innovator doing it all on their own without any help (An Outlier). Outliers was informative and entertaining. Gladwell does a good job at carefully placing data and evidence to back up his points without making Outliers sound like a textbook. 

Overall, it was a good read and it changed my perspective on the idea of hard work and luck. It is not to say that everyone isn’t able to achieve greatness, but maybe not in the way one would think or hope. I may not invent the next blockbuster search engine, but with continuous hard work, some sort of success will be in my future. 

Leave a Reply

