My Review:

In The Soul of an Octopus, Sy Montgomery eloquently describes her intimate relationships with octopuses during her time at the New England Aquarium

This book is truly like no other book I have ever read. At times it made me feel like my arms were buried inside of a frigid tank with an octopus latched onto my arms with thousands of suckers attached. These experiences she had were so surreal and well described that it actually gave me chills while reading these sections of her story.

The Soul of an Octopus taught me so many interesting things about the octopus. I also learned how little humans know about highly intelligent animals such as the octopus.The octopus is so foreign to the human species, but Sy taught me that somehow we can communicate with these creatures, primarily through emotion and by observing their body language. These observations are only the tip of the iceberg because there is so much more we have yet to learn. 

While reading Montgomery’s tale, I couldn’t help but repeatedly ask myself what an octopus would say if they could speak and what we would say if we could communicate with them in return.

The Soul of an Octopus surprised me because of the amount of raw emotion that was thrown around. I became completely immersed in the life on an octopus, and Sy’s life also. At times, I felt like I was there with her staring into these beautiful creature’s eyes in complete wonderment and awe. 

