My family’s favorite pizza dough is glutino Pizza Crust Mix. It’s Gluten-free, wheat-free, kosher and we make it dairy-free also. My daughter is allergic to wheat and dairy and I’m also allergic to dairy so glutino pizza is perfect for us. 

I’ve made the dough several times now and it takes some getting used to. Gluten-free dough does not have the same elasticity as dough made from wheat does. Gluten-free dough tends to be sticky and does not stretch so it can be difficult to work with. The first time I made this dough it was a complete mess and we ended up ordering dinner that night. After multiple attempts I have learned from my mistakes and I now consider myself a gluten-free pizza master.

The advice I would like to give for making this dough is to use less water. I believe the box says 1 1/2 cups of water. I only use around 1 cup at first. I add the 1 cup of water into the bowl and start mixing and then I add a tiny bit (maybe 1/4 of a cup) while it is mixing, depending on the consistency. The first time I made this dough I put in the entire 1 1/2 cups of water and the dough was like silly putty. It was impossible to work with because it was so sticky. I could barely get it off of my hands and I couldn’t spread it onto the pan evenly. What a disaster. 

My second piece of advice is to be generous with using oil when you’re spreading the dough out onto the pans. First, I put a generous amount of Olive Oil onto a pan. 

Be careful not to add too much oil. This could lead to popping, which could make the oven smoke or even catch on fire. The pan should be well coated but the dough should not be swimming in oil. 

Once I’ve oiled the pan, I plop the dough onto a pan and then gently push the dough out to the sides. Don’t be afraid to put oil on your hands to prevent the dough from sticking.  

The dough should look something like this before you cover it to rise. 


After that the directions are straightforward. I let the dough rise, cover it with sauce and toppings and then bake it. The glutino Pizza Crust Mix was a great find for our house. My kids love it and it’s safe for my daughter to eat. 

If you have any questions or ideas for pizza making please send them my way. I’d love to share. 

