On my way to work today I noticed that the sidewalk on my block has been cut in two separate places for two new trees. There were also two trees planted on my block over the summer. I feel like tons of trees have been popping up all over Brooklyn. 

This article confirms my suspicions. According to WNYC, there are currently 666,134 trees in NYC. This is a 12.5% increase since they were last counted in 2006.

Trees are beautiful and they’re great for cleaning the air and soaking up rain water, although they not very kind to people with spring and fall allergies. I have never seen Brooklyn this green in my life and according to this article it will only get greener. There are expected to be another 200,000 trees added to the Big Apple. According to this interactive map, there are 178,544 trees in Brooklyn alone. 

Photo By Tomwsulcer (Own work) [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons

