Lakefront Brewery – New Grist
Milwaukee, WI
Style: Pilsner
ABV: 5.1%


Being that my 2 year old daughter is allergic to wheat, I decided that it would be safest to no longer drink beer in the house. In theory, I could drink beer but I would have to do it after she goes to bed (late), or I would just have to stand in the kitchen and drink the beer quickly while I watch her scale the walls in the living room. The first method is good, but on occasion, I just want to sit on the couch and watch the Mets on a Saturday afternoon while drinking a beer. 

I searched high and low for wheat-free beers, which was more challenging than I thought it would be. There are plenty of gluten-free beers out there. For most gluten-free beers the gluten is removed from the beer. This is good for some people who have Celiac Disease or a variation of gluten intolerance, but this doesn’t suit my needs. My daughter isn’t allergic to gluten, she is allergic to the wheat itself. So I did some research online and then searched the beer aisle in every grocery store in my neighborhood. 

I recently found Lakefront Brewery New Grist beer at Whole Foods in Brooklyn. In all of the months I had shopped there, I had never seen this beer there before. Whole Foods carries a variety of gluten-free beers, but never any wheat-free beer. I know another alternative is hard cider. Hard cider is delicious and most that I have found are wheat-free, but a beer is a beer and there is nothing quite like it. I also went to school in Milwaukee, so it brought back some memories. I always liked Lakefront’s beer so I was optimistic. 

My 2 cents: New Grist is best served cold. It has a nice golden color and a mild taste. It’s a good summer outside beer. It’s made from sorghum and it has a bit of sour taste, which I like. It’s smooth and also has a great refreshing taste. I wouldn’t compare it to a wheat beer, but I think it definitely holds it’s own in the beer arena. I highly recommend it and I hope that Whole Foods starts to carry it more regularly. 

